Williamsville, NY, August 24th, 2021 – The Country Club of Buffalo hosted the 70th edition of the WNYPGA Section Professional Championship on Monday and Tuesday, August 23rd and 24th.  Club Professionals across Buffalo, Rochester and Erie, PA competed over 36-holes to try and be named the Section Champion and also earn a berth into the 55th PGA Professional National Championship in April of 2022. Head course superintendent, Anthony Tosh, had the course in championship condition both days which led to a wonderful test of golf.

Defending Champion Rob Krajewski (Glen Oak GC) headed into the week as the favorite, as the leading Professional on the WNYPGA ROLEX Player of the Year Points list, and he did not disappoint.  Rob ended up the wire-to-wire winner over the two days, winning by two shots over host Professional Jay Sutherland (2016 Section Champion) and Kirk Stauffer (5-time Section Champion)  from Chautauqua GC. Heading down the stretch, Rob eagled the par 5, 13th hole, to take the two-shot lead and never looked back.  Rob finished at 4-over par, 144.


Krajewski, Stauffer, and Sutherland will all represent the WNYPGA Section in the 55th PGA PROFESSIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP April 17-20, 2022 OMNI Barton Creek Resort & Spa (Foothills & Coore Crenshaw Courses) Austin, Texas.  The local Club Professionals will compete against the top PGA Professionals across the country and try to play their way into the 2022 PGA Championship.


1   Rob Krajewski      Glen Oak GC             71-73–144 +4  

 T2  Kirk Stauffer      Chautauqua Golf Club    73-73–146 +6  

 T2  J.A. Sutherland    CC of Buffalo           73-73–146 +6  

 4   Tyler Smith        Oak Hill CC             73-74–147 +7  

 5   Dave Coleman       Penfield CC             73-75–148 +8  

 6   Jon Hoecker        Brook-Lea CC            74-75–149 +9  

 7   Steve Barber       Locust Hill CC          78-72–150 +10 

 T8  Tim Fries          Glen Oak GC             77-76–153 +13 

 T8  Rob Horak          Midvale CC              73-80–153 +13 

 T8  Neil Reidy         Cobblestone Creek CC    72-81–153 +13 

 T11 Mike Sweazy        Wild Wood CC            79-76–155 +15 

 T11 Michael O’Connor   The Ridge GC            76-79–155 +15 

 T13 Ryan Swanson       Pinehurst G.C.          81-75–156 +16 

 T13 Cody Endress       Brookfield CC           76-80–156 +16 

 T15 Sean Moffat        The Kahkwa Club         85-72–157 +17 

 T15 Rod Blair          The Park CC             79-78–157 +17 

 T15 Cory Blanchard     CC of Buffalo           78-79–157 +17


A huge thank you to host Professional Jay Sutherland and the entire membership at The Country Club of Buffalo.  The 71st Section Championship will be held in 2022 at Oak Hill CC in Rochester, NY.